The Zodiac

The Zodiac

Astrology is based on the study of the zodiac, a celestial wheel of twelve constellations of stars which appears to turn around the Earth. The zodiac creates a backdrop for the rotation of the planets of our solar system, and the cosmic influence of the zodiacal signs are concentrated through the various planets as they radiate down to Earth.

Signs of the zodiac

Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces.

These signs in sequence show a process of crystallization, beginning with a burst of energy in the first sign of Aries and dissolving at the end in the last sign of Pisces.

In addition to this sequential pattern, the zodiac also contains the elemental triplicities made of the four elements, the modal crosses made of the three primary forces, and the six polarities.

The zodiac represents something whole and complete

The divine light in its completion and fulfillment. On the Kabbalistic Tree of Life the seven planets are each seen on different sephirah of the Tree, but the zodiac itself is on the sephirah Chokmah, the Cosmic Christ. In ancient depictions of the zodiac, Christ is shown in the center, surrounded by the twelve disciples.

The cosmic divine light of the zodiac travels down into our solar system and is refracted through the planets of our solar system, so that each planets concentrates the zodiacal sign beyond it.

Throughout the year the Sun passes through the zodiac cycle

The Sun concentrates the energy of each sign for a month. For example, from October 22nd through November 21st each year the Sun is in the sign of Scorpio. Anyone born during this time will “be” the sign of Scorpio, thus imbued with the qualities of Scorpio, concentrated through the Sun.

All the other planets, the Moon, Mercury, Venus, Saturn etc. each have their own length of cycles in which they pass through the zodiac, giving us the unique qualities of each day, each moment.

For more information see Gnostic Astrology Introduction