The 42 Negative Confessions from the Papyrus of Ani

The 42 Negative Confessions from the Papyrus of Ani

After Death

In the internal worlds our conduct is weighed on the cosmic scales of justice. If our heart is free of ego and weighs less than a feather than we are admitted into the superior planes. If our heart is heavy with misdeeds than we must return again to Earth.

42 Negative Confessions and 42 Judges of the Divine Law

42 judges govern and oversee the Divine Law in the internal worlds, and are ruled by the great hierarch of the Law the god Anubis who officiates with his jackal-headed mask. These 42 negative confessions are worth reflecting on so that we can correct our errors in this lifetime.

  1. I have not committed sin.
  2. I have not committed robbery with violence.
  3. I have not stolen.
  4. I have not slain men and women.
  5. I have not stolen grain.
  6. I have not purloined offerings.
  7. I have not stolen the property of the gods.
  8. I have not uttered lies.
  9. I have not carried away food.
  10. I have not uttered curses.
  11. I have not committed adultery, I have not lain with men.
  12. I have made none to weep.
  13. I have not eaten the heart [i.e., I have not grieved uselessly].
  14. I have not attacked any man.
  15. I am not a man of deceit.
  16. I have not stolen cultivated land.
  17. I have not been an eavesdropper.
  18. I have slandered [no man].
  19. I have not been angry without just cause.
  20. I have not debauched the wife of any man.
  21. I have not debauched the wife of any man. (repeats the previous affirmation but addressed to a different god).
  22. I have not polluted myself.
  23. I have terrorized none.
  24. I have not transgressed the Law.
  25. I have not been wroth.
  26. I have not shut my ears to the words of truth.
  27. I have not blasphemed.
  28. I am not a man of violence.
  29. I am not a stirrer up of strife or a disturber of the peace.
  30. I have not acted or judged with undue haste.
  31. I have not pried into matters.
  32. I have not multiplied my words in speaking.
  33. I have wronged none, I have done no evil.
  34. I have not worked witchcraft against the King or blasphemed against the King.
  35. I have never stopped the flow of water.
  36. I have never raised my voice spoken arrogantly, or in anger.
  37. I have not cursed or blasphemed God.
  38. I have not acted with evil rage.
  39. I have not stolen the bread of the gods.
  40. I have not carried away the khenfu cakes from the spirits of the dead.
  41. I have not snatched away the bread of the child, nor treated with contempt the god of my city.
  42. I have not slain the cattle belonging to the god.